Chicken Adobo

Image

Up until 2 weeks ago I have never heard of chicken adobo. I was bored and creeping some celebrities on twitter and saw that one celebrity posted that they were eating chicken adobo for dinner. I looked up a  few recipe online and since I had all the ingredients I needed, I decided to make it for dinner that night. I combined a few recipes since there were differing opinions on what spices should be used. I did not know what to expect with the taste as I usually do not like ethnic food, but I really loved it!

I have a friend that was born in the Philippines and I told her that I had made this dish. She said it was her favourite and so I told her next time she came over I’d make it for her. My friend came over Friday and when she ate it she said it tasted exactly like authentic chicken adobo. So I thought it was a good recipe to share with you guys.

Image

Ingredients:

1 tablespoons olive oil

2 chicken breast

1 medium onion, diced

3 garlic cloves, minced

3 tablespoons vinegar

1/3 cup low sodium soya sauce

1 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

3 bay leaves

1 1/2 teaspoon ginger

Directions:

Heat olive oil in frying pan and add chicken breast and onion. When chicken has browned and onions are soft, add minced garlic.

Image

Next add vinegar, soya sauce, pepper and bay leaves to the frying pan. Bring mixture to a boil and let it simmer for 30 minutes.

Image

Dice chicken up, remove bay leaves and serve with sauce on top. Serve with rice and vegetables.

Number of servings: 4

Time to make: 60 minutes

Nutrition: 260 calories, 0g carbs, 7g fat

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

